The (not so special) Blue Moon

To tell the truth I don’t really understand this Blue Moon hype. In my eyes it’s full-moon. Nothing more, but nothing less either. Sure, it’s the second of this month. But only because we have decided that August has 31 days. And it only applies to the Gregorian calendar (which, believe it or not, isn’t used by everyone in the entire world). If we had given August 30 days instead of 31 there wouldn’t have been a Blue Moon yesterday. Now, I do consider the moon magickal, but I don’t think she cares about our calendars. At all. She cares about coming and going in an endless circle. What I’m trying to say is that I think some people read way to much into a perfectly normal thing.

Actually I don’t even understand why the term Blue Moon even exists. The reason this happens sometimes is purely mathematical. It’s the same moon. And it’s not even blue.

Blue Moon by StamatisGR

3 thoughts on “The (not so special) Blue Moon

  1. I agree with you. I don’t think the blue moon is any more powerful than any other full moon. But I will remember it better than the others because I made a small rock pond in my back yard. 🙂

    • I will probably remember it better than others because I spent so much time thinking about how pointless the hype was, haha! The Moon is always beautiful and powerful so I never really understood what the point even was 🙂

Leave a Reply

